Interactive what's on map
Interactive whats on map


Advertise your event
Click the button below to advertise your event on Things to do in Nottinghamshire now.

Advertise with Things to do in Nottinghamshire

Buy a Things to do card now
Click the button below to buy a Things to do card now.

Click here to buy a Things to do card

Latest reviews >
Review of Venue

Motorpoint Arena Nottingham

Event reviewed
7th to 11th Sept 2016: Marvel Universe Live
Review score
5/55/55/55/55/5
Review of Venue

Petra Medley Serious Skin and Body

Event reviewed
Cryolipolysis (Fat Freezing) Special Offer
Review score
0/50/50/50/50/5
Review of Venue

Petra Medley Serious Skin and Body

Event reviewed
Diamond dermabrasion Special Offer
Review score
5/55/55/55/55/5
Review of Venue

Nottingham Playhouse

Event reviewed
The Glass Menagerie
Review score
4/54/54/54/54/5
Review of Venue

Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall Nottingham

Event reviewed
2016: Jack and the Beanstalk
Review score
5/55/55/55/55/5

Nottinghamshire weather >
Click to view the weather in Nottingham

Recent searches >
There are no recent searches
About us Prices & Times Facilities Things To Do Discount Directions Contact Us Reviews
Lakeside Arts Centre



Lakeside, the University of Nottingham’s public arts centre and museum, has established an enviable reputation for its year round programme of high quality exhibitions, music, theatre, dance, comedy and participatory events, appealing to audiences from across the region. We have also recently welcome the Museum of Archaeology to Lakeside, which now occupies a brand new exhibition space and like the gallery, has free admission.

Lakeside’s work with children and young people - including youth theatre groups, gallery art groups, summer schools, with excellent theatre provision - has gained enormously in popularity and regularly attracts capacity audiences.
 
In addition, Lakeside promotes a number of eagerly anticipated annual events including Chinese New Year celebrations in late January/early February, the International Children’s Theatre and Dance Festival in June, and LUSTRE - the Midlands premier contemporary craft makers’ market in early November.

We also a regional partner with many other local cultural venues and support and lead national and regionally significant events. We are part of Spirit Nottingham and Ticketing Network East Midlands.
 
Conveniently located on the University Park campus, Lakeside houses two excellent cafes; the Gallery Café which serves homemade sandwiches, cakes, hot food and drink and the Pavilion Café, a bistro and delhi-bar serving speciality coffees, flavoured teas, wines and beers as well as sandwiches and paninis.

Overlooking Highfield's park & playground, and the University lake, Lakeside provides a wealth of experience, whether you are 2 or 92!
 
FOR MORE INFORMATION VISIT OUR WEBSITE OR CALL THE BOX OFFICE 0115 846 7777

               

Lakeside Arts Centre
Dinosaurs of China 2017
Drama Listings
Eat, Walk, Play, Shop
Exhibitions
LAKESIDE ART INVESTIGATORS
Lakeside ON Brochure
Music
Take Part and Learn
The University of Nottingham Museum
Theatre Listings
Tiny Fingers Tiny Toes
Workshops for Young People
Show previous events

Offical Things to do in Nottinghamshire Quality Venue
Offical Things to do in Nottinghamshire Approved by Kids Venue
Dinosaurs of China 2017

Family friendly events will take place at Nottingham Lakeside Arts Centre on the following dates. Book by calling the Box Office on 0115 846 7777.

Saturday 1 July: CREATE YOUR OWN DINOSAUR COSTUME

12-1.30pm & 2pm-3.30pm
£5.00, accompanying adult free

Come and enjoy a real Jurassic experience by making your own large cardboard dinosaur costumes of heads, tails and claws. Assemble your costume, mixing and matching parts, then bring your dinosaur to life.

Sunday 2 July: FOSSIL MAKING


12-1.30pm & 2pm-3.30pm
£5.00, accompanying adult free

Be a fossil hunter for the day by creating your very own dinosaur fossils. Be inspired by the Dinosaurs of China exhibition, and join us in making lifelike fossils using a variety of materials.

Saturday 8 & Sunday 9 July: DINO DESIGN

12-1.30pm & 2pm-3.30pm
Free, just drop-in

What do you think dinosaurs look like? How do they move? What sorts of noises do they make? Using our virtual dinosaur design app on our iPads, you can bring to life your very own drawings, allowing them to move across the exhibition, and even meet other people’s designs. A spectacle not to be missed.

Saturday 22 July: ‘UNDER THE TAIL OF THE DIPLODOCUS’ INTERACTIVE STORYTELLING WORKSHOP


1pm-2pm & 3pm-4pm
£5.00, accompanying adult free.
Booking is recommended to avoid disappointment

Our intrepid explorer George Thorpington the Third has just returned from the deserts of Mongolia and he'd like to share his adventures with you, “Under the tail of the Diplodocus”. This professional story-teller will engage your imagination and tell you tales you’ll never forget.

Tuesday 25 July: DINO BUILDER

12-1.30pm & 2pm-3.30pm
£5.00, accompanying adult free

If you’re a fan of building, creating, and having fun, you’ll enjoy a chance to build your own model dinosaurs. Using LEGO, you can piece together the dinosaur of your wildest imagination, build a Jurassic habitat and make stories with your creations.

Wednesday 26 July: BRING YOUR DINO TOY DAY

12noon-1.30pm & 2pm-3.30pm
Free, just drop-in

What dinosaurs do you have at home?

Bring along a toy dinosaur and we'll have a look at what sorts are found in the shops. Are they realistic? When did they live? What groups do they belong to? Can we fit them into the scientific view of the dinosaurs? Bring your favourite, the strangest one and the one you'd most like as a pet.

How do we know what we know about dinosaurs?

Using clues from the present to uncover the past, we will look at how our understanding of dinosaurs has changed. How can clues from skeletons rebuild a whole animal? We have more in common with them than we think. Come and meet our expert Tom Hartman from the University's School of Life Sciences and bring your toy with you!

Friday 28 July: RAIDERS OF THE LOST PARK

12noon-4pm
Free, just drop-in

Adventure awaits in RAIDERS OF THE LOST PARK! Are you daring enough to come to a nature trail with an unexpected twist? Starting at Lakeside Museum, we’re presenting a series of challenges, riddles and tasks that’ll lead you all the way around Highfields Park and Lake. If you’re lucky, you might catch a glimpse of an amazingly rare species, the likes of which you’ve almost certainly never seen before! This treasure hunt will test your adventuring skills and teamwork.

Tuesday 22 & Thursday 24 August: BE A DINOSAUR DETECTIVE

12noon-1pm & 2pm-3pm
£5.00, accompanying adult free

Our intrepid explorer George Thorpington the Third has just returned from another big adventure. Help George explore his attic, looking for things that belonged to his grandfather, the famous dinosaur hunter George Thorpington the First! Using the fossils and artefacts of both his own and his family’s adventures, you can help him to piece together the story of the dinosaurs and the story of his grandfather's exciting life, all whilst learning to think like a palaeontologist, and told with help from a real dinosaur!


Forthcoming event dates:
Tuesday 22 August 2017
Thursday 24 August 2017

Site map | Copyright VISAV Ltd 2008-2017   
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0