We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. Continuing to use this site signifies your implied consent to the use of Cookies - pressing the “Agree and Close” button will remove this notice.

We are often asked to do reviews for venues in Nottinghamshire - these can be restaurants, attractions - in fact, anything that is a 'Thing to do in Nottinghamshire'.

We hope that you find our opinion useful - we try to be as honest and objective as we can but we will tell you if there is something we really don't like too!

If you have a 'Thing to do in Nottinghamshire' that you'd like us to review, please get in touch! We don't ask for any payment for the reviews we do.

Playhouse Panto 2018 image

8th December 2018

The much loved tale Peter Pan has been dusted down again for this year’s panto at Nottingham’s Theatre Royal.

Starring comedian Joe Pasquale (him with the squeaky voice) and John Challis (Boycie from Only Fools and Horses) the Theatre Royal has once again wheeled out the big guns this December.  Backed up by a suitably boyish looking Jack McNeil as Peter Pan and very cheeky Lucy Evans as Tinkerbell, expect flying, dancing pirates and lots of fairy dust.

Playhouse Panto 2018 image

1st December 2018

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas at Nottingham Playhouse.  It’s panto season and this year, Robin Hood is treading the boards to save the Babes in the Wood from the Sheriff of Nottingham.

To be honest, you can’t really go wrong with a Kenneth Alan Taylor festive offering – he’s been writing and directing the Playhouse Panto for so many years, he’s got it down to a fine art and this year is no exception.

Nativity image

21st November 2018

I’m sure that most of us have seen at least one of the three Nativity! films over the years and probably enjoyed it.  These Christmas staples are just bursting with feel-good festive joy and cute kids and have been so well received that the fourth instalment will be heading to a cinema near you this week. Meanwhile, the stage production of Nativity! has been wowing audiences in London for the past year and is now touring selected venues across the UK, including Nottingham's Theatre Royal.

Thoresby Hall Hotel and Spa image

September 2018

The Thoresby Hall Hotel in Nottinghamshire is a Grade 1 listed stately home, located on the edge of Sherwood Forest. The present house was completed in 1871 and sold to the National Coal Board in 1979, due to a threat from coal mining subsidence, after which it was acquired by Warner Leisure and opened as a hotel and spa following a £21 million pound restoration.

22nd September 2018
Guest Review by Tuhina Lloyd

Hart’s is one of Nottingham’s finest eateries renowned for its award-winning food and wine, excellent service and exquisite attention to detail. The heritage building, once a general hospital has been transformed into minimalist, light and airy space akin to a New York art gallery.

14th September 2018

Walking into Nottingham’s National Justice Museum after dark is a whole different experience. With smoke machines blurring the historic features of the reception area, ghostly music and an array of spookily themed cocktails, it looked like it was going to be an event to remember.

11th September 2018

Popping down to Turtle Bay in Nottingham’s Cornerhouse on a damp, drizzly day is always a treat.   No matter how grey the day is outside, the sun is always shining in Turtle Bay and I totally love that feeling of warmth the restaurant exudes.

22nd June 2018

The Village Cafe and Bistro is a relatively small (but by no means tiny) establishment, run by husband and wife team Alex and Cassie Chiltern in Keyworth.

Bramleys Brasserie and Bar image

July 2018

Eating in hotel restaurants doesn't seem to be the 'norm' these days. When I was growing up in the 1980s, popping down to Nottingham's Moat House for Sunday lunch was something our family did fairly regularly and the restaurants in The Royal Hotel were the ones we headed to for an evening out.

May/June 2018 at Nottingham's National Ice Centre

We were looking for a new hobby for 9 year old Evie which wouldn’t cost us an arm and a leg, would include some level of fitness and, above all, she would stick at and not complain about going every week.